IRCTC Ticket Booking

IRCTC Online Ticket Booking

Indian Railways is the largest transportation system available in India. With over 10,000 passenger trains running daily touching around 7000 stations, Indian Railways caters to the needs of millions of people. Indian Railways has a robust network of trains, and its online ticketing system is managed and run by IRCTC which abbreviates Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation.

What is IRCTC and What Services Does It Offer?

IRCTC is the subsidiary of Indian Railways that handles three services that include tourism, catering and online ticketing. All these services are operated and can be accessed through website. The website receives over 20 million visitors every month to avail these services. During the early stages of online ticketing, IRCTC solely managed the services. With an increase in the demand from passengers, IRCTC has now partnered with several finance and e-commerce companies to offer ticketing services through their apps and websites.

Apart from booking tickets online from IRCTC, passengers can also check their PNR status and know if their ticket is confirmed or not. The Holidays section on the IRCTC website offers various domestic and international tour packages, facility to book special tourist trains, book hotels, retiring rooms and lounges right from the comfort of your home.

Where to Book IRCTC Train Ticket Online?

Apart from IRCTC, passengers can book their train tickets online from a plethora of websites and apps at discounted prices. These apps are reliable, secure and approved by IRCTC. You can book, cancel, check the status of the reservation ticket on these apps.

  1. Amazon
  2. PhonePe
  3. Paytm
  4. Google Pay

Tatkal Timings:

IRCTC opens the tatkal quota every day at 10AM for AC bookings and 11AM for sleeper class bookings. However, apps like Amazon, PhonePe, Paytm and Google Pay also allow passengers to book tatkal tickets online starting at 10:15AM and 11:15AM respectively, which means they open tatkal bookings late by 15mins.

How Many Days in Advance Can the IRCTC Train Tickets be Booked Online?

IRCTC allows passengers to book tickets online before 120 days in advance, excluding the journey date.

Common IRCTC Misspells by Users

IRCTC is not the term that can be easily spelt by typical Indian people. Hence people are Googling various forms of IRCTC to visit the website. The very common misspells include:

  1. Irtc
  2. Irtct
  3. Irtctc

Different Quotas Available During IRCTC Ticket Booking:

While booking a train ticket online, we can see various quotas and the number of vacant berths or seats available under it. Indian Railways offer reservation berths under 19 different quotas to the passengers. They include:

  1. DF Defence Quota
  2. DP Duty Pass Quota
  3. FT Foreign Tourist Quota
  4. GN General Quota
  5. GNRS General Quota Road Side
  6. HO Headquarters/high official Quota
  7. HP Physically Handicapped Quota
  8. LB Lower Berth
  9. LD Ladies Quota
  10. OS Out Station
  11. PH Parliament house Quota
  12. PQ Pooled Quota
  13. PT Premium Tatkal Quota
  14. RC(RAC) Reservation Against Cancellation
  15. RE Railway Employee Staff on Duty for the train
  16. RS Road Side
  17. SS Female(above 45 Year)/Senior Citizen/Travelling alone
  18. TQ Tatkal Quota
  19. YU Yuva

ID Proofs Accepted by TTEs in Trains:

IRCTC does not ask for any identity proof while booking a reservation ticket, but one may have to show it in the train to the TTE (Travel Ticket Examiner) for the verification of the identity. IRCTC allows the following proofs to show up the identity:

  1. Aadhar card
  2. Central/State Government issued Photo Identity card
  3. Credit Cards with laminated photograph
  4. Driving License
  5. Nationalized Bank Passbook with photographs
  6. Pan Card
  7. Passport
  8. Photo identity cards having serial number
  9. Student Identity Card with photograph
  10. Voter photo identity card

Popular IRCTC Train Routes in India:

Among the thousands of the train routes in India, a few of them are popular and see heavy bookings on IRCTC. They include:

  1. Ahmedabad Mumbai
  2. Bangalore Chennai
  3. Bangalore Delhi
  4. Bangalore Hyderabad
  5. Chennai Bangalore
  6. Delhi Goa
  7. Guwahati Kolkata
  8. Mumbai Pune
  9. Delhi Mumbai
  10. Coimbatore Chennai
  11. Mumbai Delhi
  12. Tirupati Hyderabad
  13. Mysore Bangalore
  14. Mumbai Goa
  15. Delhi Kolkata
  16. Delhi Pune
  17. Bangalore Mumbai
  18. Madurai Chennai
  19. Kanpur Delhi
  20. Chennai Hyderabad
  21. Hyderabad Bangalore
  22. Pune Goa
  23. Bangalore Kolkata
  24. Hyderabad Pune
  25. Hyderabad Mumbai
  26. Hyderabad Chennai
  27. Patna Delhi
  28. Vijayawada Hyderabad
  29. Delhi Bangalore
  30. Bangalore Goa
  31. Jaipur Kolkata
  32. Nagpur Pune
  33. Pune Mumbai
  34. Agra Delhi
  35. Jaipur Delhi
  36. Chennai Goa
  37. Bhusaval Pune